08/09/2017

Some nights such as these, I can’t help but reminisce, and if I reminisce, it wouldn’t have been too long before my thoughts wander ‘round to you eventually. A good place, I might add. A happy one, despite how things played out. I am dually blessed and cursed with a positive disposition, which in this instance could be argued as a blessing.

Tonight, however, I miss the giggle in your laughter. I miss the effortlessness with which we dance and weave in our conversations. I’ve had dates since our last real chat, and let’s just say the difference is like a full moon to a clouded star. With you, I had difficulty ending our conversations; with some certain others, I can barely find a rhythm to start, let alone continue.

We’ve changed quite a bit, haven’t we? You really got into running and anime. I recently got back into working out again and shed the winter pounds. I got a new haircut too, less spiky and more comb-overy…an adulting look I suppose, hah. Your music taste is expansive as ever; my night owl ways are much the same, schedule permitting. I guess our cores are still the same, heh.

It’s been an odd year since you are gone again. Despite that, you’ve never been more present in the undercurrents of my thoughts. Life’s thrown me a couple curveballs since that I would have loved to chat with you about. I’m sure it’d probably done the same for you, which I would be more than happy to listen. But here we are, quiet as the midnight air, those words unspoken…

It does bring me joy though how we picked up so effortlessly last time. Maybe next time will be a bit more permanent. A happy soul can hope, right? Hah. So the saying goes though, “greatness is in knowing that it’s not about you.” I’m only half a story, and eager or willing as I ever am to write some more, we’ll need both of us to put something together. Something fun and charming, with a dash of over-the-top cosmic grandness (because why not). Being light-hearted was always a foundation for us, after all.

Tell Me Somethin'

